Indian Bank RD Interest Rates 2026
Save a fixed amount every month with a Indian Bank recurring deposit. RD rates go up to 6.20% for regular customers and 6.70% for senior citizens, with instalments from ₹100. Public-sector bank; merged with Allahabad Bank in 2020.
Rates effective 3 Mar 2026 · Checked 27 September 2026Indian Bank recurring deposit at a glance
Have a lump sum instead? Indian Bank FD rates go up to 6.65% →
Indian Bank RD interest rates
| Tenure | General (p.a.) | Senior citizen (p.a.) |
|---|---|---|
| 180 days | 3.85% | 4.35% |
| 181 days – <9 months | 4.50% | 5.00% |
| 9 months – <1 year | 4.75% | 5.25% |
| 1 year | 6.10% | 6.60% |
| >1 year – <2 years | 6.20% | 6.70% |
| 2 years – <3 years | 6.15% | 6.65% |
| 3 years – <5 years | 6.05% | 6.55% |
| 5 years | 6.00% | 6.50% |
| >5 years – 10 years | 6.00% | 6.50% |
Source: www.policybazaar.com. Confirm with the bank before opening.
What your monthly savings will become
| Tenure | Rate (general / senior) | ₹2,000 / month | ₹5,000 / month | ₹10,000 / month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year | 6.10% / 6.60% | ₹24,804 | ₹62,010 | ₹1,24,019 |
| 2 years | 6.15% / 6.65% | ₹51,182 | ₹1,27,956 | ₹2,55,912 |
| 3 years | 6.05% / 6.55% | ₹79,090 | ₹1,97,726 | ₹3,95,451 |
| 5 years | 6.00% / 6.50% | ₹1,40,127 | ₹3,50,318 | ₹7,00,636 |
General rate, quarterly compounding, before tax. “—” = no published slab for that exact tenure.
Indian Bank RD calculator
Rules & charges
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Minimum instalment | ₹100 |
| Tenure | 6 months to 10 years |
| Missed / late instalment | Nominal penalty on late/missed instalments (amount not stated) |
| Premature closure | Allowed; interest at rate for actual tenure run, less applicable penalty |
| Loan against RD | Usually available up to 80%–90% of the balance |
| Nomination | Up to 4 nominees (from 1 Nov 2025) |
| Deposit insurance | DICGC up to ₹5 lakh per depositor (with other deposits at Indian Bank) |
Tax on Indian Bank RD
| Point | Rule |
|---|---|
| Taxability | Interest taxed at slab rate every year |
| TDS | 10% once FD + RD interest from Indian Bank exceeds ₹50,000 a year (₹1 lakh for 60+); 20% without PAN |
| Avoid TDS | Submit Form 121 (earlier 15G/15H) if your tax is nil |
| Deduction | No 80C; seniors can claim up to ₹50,000 under 80TTB (old regime) |
How to open a Indian Bank RD
- OnlineNet banking or mobile app → Deposits → Open Recurring Deposit. Choose instalment, tenure, debit date and nominee.
- BranchFill the RD form with KYC and give a standing instruction from your savings account.
- Set auto-debitSchedule the debit a day after salary credit to avoid missed instalments.
Documents
- PAN or Form 60
- Aadhaar / other address proof
- Age proof for senior citizen rate
Compare Indian Bank with other banks
| Bank | Highest | 1 year | 5 years | Min. instalment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bandhan Bank | 7.25% | 7.00% | 5.85% | Rs 100/month, multiples of Rs 1 |
| YES Bank | 7.00% | 6.65% | 6.75% | Rs 1,000/month |
| IndusInd Bank | 7.00% | 6.75% | 6.65% | ₹1,000 |
| Tamilnad Mercantile Bank | 7.00% | 6.80% | 6.70% | — |
| Dhanlaxmi Bank | 7.00% | 6.25% | 6.50% | Rs 1,000/month, multiples of Rs 500 |
| Saraswat Co-operative Bank | 7.00% | 6.60% | 7.00% | ₹500 |
| South Indian Bank | 6.80% | 6.25% | 5.70% | ₹100 |
| Federal Bank | 6.75% | 6.25% | 6.40% | Rs 50/month, multiples of Rs 10 |
| Indian Bank | 6.20% | 6.10% | 6.00% | ₹100 |
Frequently asked questions
What is the highest RD interest rate at Indian Bank?
Indian Bank pays up to 6.20% on RDs (>1 year – <2 years) and up to 6.70% to senior citizens (rates effective 3 Mar 2026).
How much will ₹5,000 a month grow to in a Indian Bank RD?
In 5 years at 6.00%, ₹3 lakh of instalments grow to about ₹3,50,318.
What is the minimum RD instalment at Indian Bank?
The minimum monthly instalment is ₹100. Tenure: 6 months to 10 years.
What if I miss an instalment?
Indian Bank: Nominal penalty on late/missed instalments (amount not stated).
Can I close a Indian Bank RD early?
Indian Bank: Allowed; interest at rate for actual tenure run, less applicable penalty.
Is RD interest taxable?
Yes, at your slab rate. TDS of 10% applies when your total FD + RD interest from Indian Bank exceeds ₹50,000 in a year (₹1 lakh for seniors).
Is my RD safe with Indian Bank?
RDs are insured by DICGC up to ₹5 lakh per depositor per bank, including interest.
Rates compiled from the bank’s published RD / term-deposit rates for comparison only. FinancePortal is not affiliated with Indian Bank. Confirm current rates with the bank.