Punjab & Sind Bank RD Interest Rates 2026
Save a fixed amount every month with a Punjab & Sind Bank recurring deposit. RD rates go up to 5.95% for regular customers and 6.45% for senior citizens, with instalments from ₹10. Public-sector bank headquartered in New Delhi.
Rates effective 16 Jun 2026 · Checked 27 September 2026Punjab & Sind Bank recurring deposit at a glance
Punjab & Sind Bank RD interest rates
| Tenure | General (p.a.) | Senior citizen (p.a.) |
|---|---|---|
| 180 – 364 days | 4.85% | 5.35% |
| 1 year | 5.85% | 6.35% |
| 2 years | 5.95% | 6.45% |
| 5 years | 5.95% | 6.45% |
| Above 5 years – 10 years | 5.85% | 6.35% |
Punjab & Sind Bank applies its term-deposit (FD) card to RDs of the same tenure. Source: punjabandsind.bank.in. Confirm with the bank before opening.
What your monthly savings will become
| Tenure | Rate (general / senior) | ₹2,000 / month | ₹5,000 / month | ₹10,000 / month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year | 5.85% / 6.35% | ₹24,770 | ₹61,926 | ₹1,23,852 |
| 2 years | 5.95% / 6.45% | ₹51,075 | ₹1,27,689 | ₹2,55,377 |
| 3 years | — | — | — | — |
| 5 years | 5.95% / 6.45% | ₹1,39,943 | ₹3,49,858 | ₹6,99,716 |
General rate, quarterly compounding, before tax. “—” = no published slab for that exact tenure.
Punjab & Sind Bank RD calculator
Rules & charges
| Feature | Details |
|---|---|
| Minimum instalment | ₹10 |
| Tenure | 6 months to 10 years |
| Missed / late instalment | Penalty as per bank rules |
| Premature closure | Allowed; nominal penal charges (amount not stated) |
| Loan against RD | Usually available up to 80%–90% of the balance |
| Nomination | Up to 4 nominees (from 1 Nov 2025) |
| Deposit insurance | DICGC up to ₹5 lakh per depositor (with other deposits at Punjab & Sind Bank) |
Tax on Punjab & Sind Bank RD
| Point | Rule |
|---|---|
| Taxability | Interest taxed at slab rate every year |
| TDS | 10% once FD + RD interest from Punjab & Sind Bank exceeds ₹50,000 a year (₹1 lakh for 60+); 20% without PAN |
| Avoid TDS | Submit Form 121 (earlier 15G/15H) if your tax is nil |
| Deduction | No 80C; seniors can claim up to ₹50,000 under 80TTB (old regime) |
How to open a Punjab & Sind Bank RD
- OnlineNet banking or mobile app → Deposits → Open Recurring Deposit. Choose instalment, tenure, debit date and nominee.
- BranchFill the RD form with KYC and give a standing instruction from your savings account.
- Set auto-debitSchedule the debit a day after salary credit to avoid missed instalments.
Documents
- PAN or Form 60
- Aadhaar / other address proof
- Age proof for senior citizen rate
Compare Punjab & Sind Bank with other banks
| Bank | Highest | 1 year | 5 years | Min. instalment |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bandhan Bank | 7.25% | 7.00% | 5.85% | Rs 100/month, multiples of Rs 1 |
| YES Bank | 7.00% | 6.65% | 6.75% | Rs 1,000/month |
| IndusInd Bank | 7.00% | 6.75% | 6.65% | ₹1,000 |
| Tamilnad Mercantile Bank | 7.00% | 6.80% | 6.70% | — |
| Dhanlaxmi Bank | 7.00% | 6.25% | 6.50% | Rs 1,000/month, multiples of Rs 500 |
| Saraswat Co-operative Bank | 7.00% | 6.60% | 7.00% | ₹500 |
| South Indian Bank | 6.80% | 6.25% | 5.70% | ₹100 |
| Federal Bank | 6.75% | 6.25% | 6.40% | Rs 50/month, multiples of Rs 10 |
| Punjab & Sind Bank | 5.95% | 5.85% | 5.95% | ₹10 |
Frequently asked questions
What is the highest RD interest rate at Punjab & Sind Bank?
Punjab & Sind Bank pays up to 5.95% on RDs (2 years) and up to 6.45% to senior citizens (rates effective 16 Jun 2026).
How much will ₹5,000 a month grow to in a Punjab & Sind Bank RD?
In 5 years at 5.95%, ₹3 lakh of instalments grow to about ₹3,49,858.
What is the minimum RD instalment at Punjab & Sind Bank?
The minimum monthly instalment is ₹10. Tenure: 6 months to 10 years.
What if I miss an instalment?
The bank charges a penalty on late instalments and may close the RD after repeated defaults.
Can I close a Punjab & Sind Bank RD early?
Punjab & Sind Bank: Allowed; nominal penal charges (amount not stated).
Is RD interest taxable?
Yes, at your slab rate. TDS of 10% applies when your total FD + RD interest from Punjab & Sind Bank exceeds ₹50,000 in a year (₹1 lakh for seniors).
Is my RD safe with Punjab & Sind Bank?
RDs are insured by DICGC up to ₹5 lakh per depositor per bank, including interest.
Rates compiled from the bank’s published RD / term-deposit rates for comparison only. FinancePortal is not affiliated with Punjab & Sind Bank. Confirm current rates with the bank.